21 Days to Beat Depression – Day 9

Free Scripture booklet cover web“You also became imitators of us and of the Lord, having received the Word in much tribulation with the joy of the Holy Spirit.” – I Thessalonians 1:6

You know … there is just something about the Bible that is able to deliver joy in the very worst of times.  There is something miraculously indescribable about the work that the Word of God can do in the most wounded of hearts.

Do you want to know what I believe?  I believe that when the Holy Spirit wrote I Thessalonians through Paul … He didn’t just have the church in Thessalonica in mind … but the Holy Spirit had YOU in mind!!

While you are going through a time of tribulation and thus discouragement and perhaps depression … you need the joy that only the Word of God and the Holy Spirit can deliver!

May I share some of my favorite Scriptures with you today?  I pray that these verses taken from the greatest Book of all time will do more to heal your soul than the most powerful anti-depressant, the best earthly psychologist or even an IV of chocolate!!

“Your words were found and I ate them, and Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart.” – Jeremiah 15:16

“My soul weeps because of grief; strengthen me according to Your Word.” – Psalm 119:28

“I shall delight in Your commandments, which I love.  And I shall lift up my hands to Your commandments, which I love; and I will meditate on Your statutes.” – Psalm 119:47 & 48

Day 9 web pic

The Word of God will strengthen you in ways that nothing else has the power to  because the Bible is a rich power source like no other!  It is better than an excellent counselor, a best friend, a good book or even a loving husband.  Never underestimate the healthy emotional life that can be attained simply by reading the Bible!  When you are weeping or when you are grieving … the very first place that you should turn is to the Word!

And then … hunker down and stay in that place until you are filled with the supernatural, incomparable, miraculous power of heaven!  And then … stay there longer!

So many Christians, when they are going through a challenging time emotionally, lay their Bibles aside with these sorry excuses:

“I am too weary too read … I am too shell-shocked to read … I am too depressed to read the Bible.”

The very time that you need what only the Word can offer is precisely when you are weary … shell-shocked … and depressed!

The Word of God is your comfort when you are going through a fire so please don’t set it aside but wring the truth and joy out of it every single day of your life.

And now … if you will excuse me … I need to go and read my Bible!

MAKING IT PRACTICAL –

1 – What is your favorite Bible verse?  Take the time today to share it with someone in your life.  You might want to share it on Facebook or through Twitter with #beatdepression.  Or, simply share it with a family member or a friend.  Their life will be enriched and encouraged by your gift of hope!

2 – Three more things!  You can do it!  List three more things for which you are thankful today!  Don’t forget: #beatdepression!

DECLARATION –

I declare today that the Word of God is doing a miracle inside of me!  I declare that as I read God’s Word that it is healing me and setting me free from depression!  I declare that the Bible is bringing me the gift of joy!

PRAYER FOR TODAY –

Jesus, I love You so much and today, I thank You for the Bible.  Thank You when the Holy Spirit was writing the Bible through the men whom you chose, that You were thinking about me.  Thank You that the Bible has the power to heal me and to enable me to walk in Your joy!  In Jesus’ Name I pray.  Amen.”

Leave a comment