21 Days to Beat Depression – Day 5

Free Scripture booklet cover web

“Those who sow in tears shall reap with joyful shouting.  He who goes to and fro weeping, carrying his bag of seed, shall indeed come again with a shout of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.” – Psalm 126: 5 & 6

Everything I know about farming I learned from my Dad who was raised on his family’s farm in the days preceding WWII.  Dad had a love for the land and for the produce that it yielded.  His happiest moments were spent digging in the dirt, planting seeds in the tender ground of spring, pulling relentless weeds under the hot summer sunshine and then harvesting the bounty that he and God had grown together!

This is what I learned from my wise father who had dirt under his fingernails and a love for the land in his soul:  If you plant cucumber seeds then you will harvest  shiny, green cucumbers.  Cucumber seeds never produce onions … or celery … or corn on the cob.  If you plant tulip bulbs then you will reap a beautiful display of tulips.  Tulip bulbs never reproduce zinnias … or evergreen trees … or forget-me-nots.  You will always reap what you have sown.  Seeds are only able to reproduce what their genetic code determines.

This is also true in the animal kingdom because cats only spawn kittens and never give birth to elephants, to humpbacked whales or even to piglets.  Animals, human beings and insects only reproduce what their genetic code determines.

However, in the Kingdom of God, there is an exception to this irrefutable code of genetics.  In God’s garden, when you sow in tears, you will always reap in joy!  If you have cried yourself to sleep too many times to count and have experienced the sorrow of depression, disappointment and sadness … do not give up!  Joy is on the way!  Your tears have fertilized the seeds of joy that God has planted in the garden of your life.

Those who have sown the tears of tragedy, sorrow and disappointment have the greatest capacity to reap a harvest of heaven’s joy!

Joy is not an impossibility when you have experienced deep emotional trauma and pain but it is a certainty in the Kingdom of God.  God has not forgotten you but is delighted to partner with you in a bountiful explosion of joy!  The very worst moment of your life has the capacity to produce the very best harvest of all:  the harvest of joy!

MAKING IT PRACTICAL-

1 – Add to your “Thanksgiving in January and February!” list by adding 3 more blessings for which you are grateful.  Don’t forget “#beatdepression!”

2 – Be kind to someone today.  Anyone at all!  Smile at the woman beside you in traffic … encourage the young mother in the grocery store line … pay for someone else’s coffee in the drive-through … tell someone in your family that you are thankful for them.  Kindness is always a pre-requisite to joy!

DECLARATION –

I declare today, in agreement with the Word of God, that every tear I have ever shed will reap an extreme and abundant harvest of joy in my life.  I declare that my days of depression are done and a growing season of joy in my life has begun!

PRAYER FOR TODAY-

Dear Jesus, I really do love You so much.  Thank You that every tear that I have cried, every ache of my heart and every seed of sorrow, is going to reap a harvest of joy in my life.  I don’t know how you do that, Lord, but if the Bible says that it is true … then I believe it!  Father, I pray that joy will begin to spring up in my life today.  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen.”

One thought on “21 Days to Beat Depression – Day 5

  1. I am thankful today for Carol’s vision to reach out to women with the word that will defeat depression. As the many heartaches and tears I have shed and didn’t understand, I agree with God’s word that I will reap an abundant harvest of joy!
    I am so thankful that Life Church reaches into the lives of the community with grace and peace.
    Only attending one time, I felt the love and joy of Our Precious Savior……….
    Thank you Craig and Carol……..may your territory be like that of Jabez………..reaching to all the corners of the world.

Leave a comment